Karnatak Science College, Dharwad

Zoology, Microbiology & Industrial Fisheries


Department of Zoology was established in the year 1924. It is provided with 3 lecture halls, 1 Library, 4 student laboratories and 3 well established Research Laboratories. The dept. also has a museum which is known as one of the oldest museum of the nation. It has a large collection of rare specimens and a artifacts of taxidermy. The Department organizes seminars, group discussions, invited talks, field trip and study tours etc. Dr. A.A.Hooli, Dr. (Smt.) M.S.Nayak are actively involved in research and guiding students for Ph.D.  Dr. (Smt.) N.V. Biradar has research project in Zoology worth Rs. 30,000 funded by department of Vision Group Science & Technology (VGST- SPICE) Government of Karnatak. Dr. (Smt.) A.S.Bellad has a research project in Microbiology worth Rs. 30,000 funded by Department of Vision Group Science & Technology (VGST- SPICE)  Government of Karnatak. Students are involved in these projects.


The Department also houses other two sister Departments Viz Microbiology and Industrial Fisheries facilitated with separate, Spacious & well equipped laboratories.



  1. Dr. A.A.Hooli       ---  View Profile
  2. Dr.(Smt) N.V.Biradar  ---  View Profile
  3. Dr.(Smt) A.S.Bellad    ---  View Profile
  4. Dr.(Smt) M.S. Nayak – HOD   --- View Profile
  5. Dr. (Smt) R.D.Sankal --- View Profile
  6. Dr. S.S.Mangalwade --- View Profile
  7. Dr. Harsha D. Neelgund---  View Profile
      Non Teaching Staff
  1. Shri.S.B.Radder:Sr.Lab Asst.


Latest Article


PUC 2nd Year Science Practical Examination Time Table is Available.

More >>

Semester System

Semester system for undergraduate students has been introduced to make their education to go hand in hand with the prevailing social, cultural, economic and technological environment. The courses are designed based on the needs of society in general.

Governing Council

The college has a governing council is headed by the Vice-Chancellor of Karnatak University, Syndicate Members, two staff members of the college and the Principal as secretary. It guides and regulates all the activities of the college.